Where is Madame Knipe? Day 3

Firstly did you guess yesterday’s monuments? They were the Eiffel Tower, L’Arc de Triomphe and the tricky one was Les Invalides which is where Napoleon is buried. The roof of this building is covered in gold!

Today I was picked up bright and early by a tour bus ready to visit two very special places: the palace of Versailles and the home and gardens of the artist Claude Monet.  I was really looking forward to seeing these places.

My first stop was at the place of Versailles. This was built in 1682 by King Louis XIV and was a royal palace where the kings, queens and courtiers lived until the French Revolution!

I will show you more photos when I get back but here are a couple for now just to get you wondering what this place might have been like to live in.

The gate into the palace.

The king’s bedroom.

The Hall of Mirrors. Something famous happened in here after World War One also. I wonder if you can find out what it was?

Versailles is also famous for its beautiful gardens too. While I was there I was lucky enough to see all the fountains flowing – they only turn them on on weekends! Have a look at this beautiful one.

After the morning at Versailles, I went to Monet’s garden. I wonder if you can work out which flowers Monet is famous for painting?


Here I am with them!


There weren’t just water lilies in the garden though. I will show you more photos here too as the whole garden was amazing and smelt so beautiful. Remember it is summer over here so all the plants are flowering.
I also got to look around Monet’s house. This is his studio where he painted some of his famous impressionist paintings. Can you see any you know on the walls (these aren’t the real paintings though – they are priceless and hang in lots of famous galleries around the world)


A Demain mes enfants

Mme Knipe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *